Dreaming Way Tarot

I received this deck, Dreaming Way Tarot by Rome Choi (art by Kwon Shina), back in September or October 2012, compliments of US Games Systems, as a review deck.  This is a deck I would probably not have purchased myself at first glance, so I am soooo glad it found its way to me!  Thank you, Lynn Araujo! 🙂

However, the time in my life being what it was (work, work, work, sleep, work, work, work, etc.) it got put in a drawer until it started calling to me.  And I gotta say, when a deck starts a callin’, I have a very hard time ignoring it!

I pulled three cards (and always the bottom card as well, which I position to the left as the underlying energies of the situation) asking “What do the cards want to tell me?”

2013-4-17 Dreaming Way Interview

I don’t usually do open spreads, but since I didn’t have a specific question at the time the deck was calling, I just let the cards talk to me.  And wow….  they spoke loud and clear.  First of all, Temperance is a special card for me, for better or worse.  From the time I started using the tarot, Temperance has consistently popped out of almost every deck I’ve used, as if to say, “You’re not hearing what I’m trying to tell you!”  In this spread, I say to her, “I hear you!!  But making a change in life is not always easy, you know?”

Temperance faces me straight on, feeling very “in my face” so to speak.  And her wings could be reminding me to lean more on my Higher Power for help.  She’s sandwiched between two tens, as if to say that it’s time to end this cycle I’m on.  Too much on my plate is making my family suffer.  The people/family in Ten of Pentacles is looking toward me, seeing me trying to pick up all of those wands in the Ten of Wands, wondering when they’re ever going to get my attention.  And of course, my back is to them, too busy to see that they are desperate for my attention.  (As if I didn’t feel badly enough…)

The Knight of Pentacles was on the bottom of the deck, ye ol’ stick-in-the-mud, looking on at the sad scene.  Or is that pentacle, representing his desire for a stable life, blocking his view?

These cards are sending me a clear message that my work has completely taken over my life.  It has gone from Three of Pentacles, to Eight of Pentacles, to a Ten of Wands, no more just about work and doing a good job, but it’s become all I can see anymore.  Thus an appearance from Temperance, my trusty personal alarm, telling me (AGAIN) that I’m out of balance.

By the way, yes, it is the end of June and I’m back posting, but I had so much fun with this deck I wanted to share.  I don’t always post on my blog, website, or message groups I’m on, but I always keep my handwritten tarot journal.  🙂

Leave a Reply

